Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

• Join The Club

Join the Lexus Owners Club and be part of the Community. It's FREE!

Hi all, :phone: new here but have gained much information from this site since I purchased an IS220D SE for the daughter six months ago. However I wonder if anyone has any idea of my next move regarding an over tightened oil filter cap. I am a retired diesel engineer and have tried everything I know to shift it but no way is this moving. Car was purchased 6 months ago and dealers (not Lexus) did an oil and filter change when collected. Some dope must have tighten the cap well over the needed torque.

I have the correct tool and I have tried warming the housing above its normal temp no joy, tried freezing the cap with nitrogen, no joy. My main concern is that I tear the whole filter housing off from the block. I am trying to locate another complete housing so I can remove the one on the car and see if I can budge it, Then if it does fracture at least I will have a replacement.

So here we go any suggestions regarding shifting it, and the joint between the block and the housing would anybody know if it is a gasket or O rings.

Thanks.

Hello and welcome to the LOC.

I can't find any reference to the filter housing in the parts list so this may not be available as a separate part.

Sounds like the garage as you say over torqued it or cross threaded it.

Sorry I cannot offer any advice on how to remove it without risk of damage.

This is all I found on the parts list.

post-12144-0-91201500-1410035879_thumb.p

Thanks I have sourced a possible secondhand cap and filter housing maybe as you say its not listed as a separate part on a parts list. The part not numbered on your image is held onto the block by 4 bolts.