Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

• Join The Club

Join the Lexus Owners Club and be part of the Community. It's FREE!

Lexus Ipod Adapter

Thought I would post up the Lexus IPod adapter I have had installed in my RX400h and give a bit of a review on it. I know a lot of peeps have this, but for those who don’t, perhaps this will help you decide if you want to get one or not.

I am no expert, but happy to answer any questions as best I can.

I was very lucky to have this installed for my Xmas present by my wife, she secretly had it added to the car when it was in for a service in December 2009. I said after Xmas I was going to get it installed, but she surprised me with it instead.

As I was going to get it installed, I know the price was £285 fitted, there are probably cheaper options out there, but I am not that bothered, this works well and I am happy.

So the Lexus IPod adapter...

As you can see in the image below you get a lovely Lexus display when you connect it to the car. When it is connected all the controls on the IPod are disabled, so you can not adjust volume, settings etc from the IPod. If you need to unplug it you just pull the plug, there is no need to do any disconnecting process like when you are connected to a PC.

a.jpg

The IPod stops and starts when the car is stopped and started, it only starts when selected by you, so if you are listening to FM, it stops. It also is charged by the car when the ignition is on.

The only evidence of the IPod adapter being installed is a discreet cable in the glove box, which is perfect as all the control for the IPod is done from the car system anyway.

b.jpg