Do Not Sell My Personal Information Jump to content

• Join The Club

Join the Lexus Owners Club and be part of the Community. It's FREE!

Hi guys, I'm new to IS250's but not new to the forum. I was an LPG LS430 owner for a number of years until the road Gods decided to take him away. I toyed with the idea of getting an GS460h but at the time I was looking they were all a bit worn and tired... So I settled on a one owner IS250 SE-L 2009 with 80K miles. Not much history but I'm putting that down to the previous owner being careless with his paperwork rather than it not being looked after. Do these cars have service books? I only have a handful of Lexus invoices. To tidy the car up I've had the headlights and the front two wheels refurbished. I've also put 4 new Goodyears on as the existing tyres were budgets, mixed treads and dated 2021. And I fitted a good second hand steering wheel as the original was a bit worn. I am planning to imminently carry out a full service inc sparks, gearbox and diff. 

So my impressions after the first 1000 miles. The car handles very well as I expected, it's not super fast but it's more than adequate for civilian driving like me. The engine does sound a bit tapety from the outside which I feel I may need to investigate. My LS430 was extremely quiet, and although from the inside the 250 is silent, if you're outside the car it's not as quiet as I would expect. Is this normal? I'm assuming this isn't the type of engine to have a bottom end go or something! The gearbox is also a bit clunky at times. When I'm at a junction and I pull off quickly it does hesitate before shooting off. I've heard the adaptations can need changing or adapting to your driving style and the car learns in time once the Battery has been discharged.